Just another WordPress.com weblog

The Search Begins

In a blog post created by Lindsay Olson, she asks the very important question, when should college seniors start looking for a job?

I’ve come to this point in my college career and I’ve began to stress about my future because I graduate in June with no career plans. People have told me to start looking now, but is it too soon?

Public relations practitioner, Alison Kennedy, replied to Olson’s post by saying that applying for jobs within four to six months of your graduation is ideal. Kennedy mentions that it’s good to start networking and talking with possible employers to get your name out there. Searching for internships is also a good idea because many internships turn into full-time jobs.

I have been searching daily for jobs and internships, hoping to find something I qualify for and even considering applying for jobs where I don’t meet the requirements because I want to get my name out to various companies. I would definitely recommend starting to look for jobs four or five months before graduation because it’s a long process. The job I applied for still hasn’t responded back to me and you never know how long the interviewing process takes.

 

Image provided by Google Images.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

